Tonight, the Middlesex County Democratic Organization held its convention, endorsing Commissioner Leslie Koppel and Commissioner Charles Tomaro for County Commissioner and a slate of state legislative candidates for the June 6 Primary Election. 

“I am proud of our inclusive and believe we have the most transparent convention process in the state that has lead to our 2023 slate of candidates that bring the ideal combination of government experience and energy that Middlesex County and New Jersey need to continue our upward trajectory,” Middlesex County Democratic Organization Chairman Kevin P. McCabe said. “Following a strong electoral cycle in 2022, Democrats in New Jersey need to maintain positive momentum, and we in Middlesex County will work to successfully elect each of these candidates this November. This slate has a laudable history of public service and fighting for the betterment of Middlesex County’s working and middle class families. Vice Chair Beatrice Moskowitz and I are proud of the slate that our County Committee members have endorsed, and we look forward to successful efforts this June and November.”

The candidates who received the Middlesex Democratic endorsement to run in the June 2023 Primary are:

  • Commissioner Leslie Koppel and Commissioner Charles Tomaro for County Commissioner
  • 12th Legislative District: Brandon Rose of Jackson for State Senate, Raya Arbiol of Old Bridge and Paul Sarti of Jackson for General Assembly
  • 14th Legislative District: Senator Linda Greenstein of Plainsboro for State Senate, Assemblyman Wayne DeAngelo and Tennille McCoy of Hamilton for General Assembly 
  • 16th Legislative District: Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker of South Brunswick for State Senate, and Assemblyman Roy Freiman of Hillsborough and Mitchelle Drulis of Ringoes for General Assembly
  • 17th Legislative District: Senator Bob Smith of Piscataway for State Senate, and Assemblymembers Joseph Egan of New Brunswick and Joseph Danielsen of Franklin Township for General Assembly
  • 18th Legislative District: Senator Pat Diegnan of South Plainfield for State Senate, and Assemblymembers Robert Karabinchak of Edison and Sterley Stanley of East Brunswick for General Assembly
  • 19th Legislative District: Senator Joe Vitale of Woodbridge for State Senate, and Speaker Craig Coughlin of Woodbridge and Assemblymember Yvonne Lopez of Perth Amboy for General Assembly
  • 21st Legislative District: Liz Grainer of Bernards Twp and Chris Weber of Springfield for General Assembly


“Our Middlesex County legislative delegation will build upon the already impressive economic growth we’ve seen over recent years.” Chairman McCabe said. “We believe this slate of candidates, led by Middlesex County’s own Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin, will move New Jersey and Middlesex County forward with their leadership and determination. I look forward to electing more Democrats to join our legislative ranks this November.”